top of page

What's Next?

Every year between Christmas and New Year's (December 25 - January 1st) I go on an awesome adventure. Now as a college student, I do have a budget that I follow. Every trip I plan has a budget of $500 per person that goes on the trip with me. For 2018-2019 winter trip, I have decided to go to one of the most expensive places this time of year, Nashville, Tennessee!

Nashville, Tennessee

So what does my itinerary look like?

First Stop!

Montgomery Bell State Park

Rule #1:

Don't Overbook yourself

When planning a trip on a budget, it is important to know your limits. Us college students are diverse and personally I am totally okay with camping in the 30 degree weather. However, not everyone can handle harsh climates and hard surfaces. Therefore, prepare a trip to your comforts. From Texas to Tennessee our first day mostly will consist of driving, approx. 11 hours. For someone who travels a lot I honestly do not mind being in a car for this long with several breaks throughout the drive. However, DON'T OVERBOOK YOURSELF! I planned for this day to be only driving and that is it. Once we get to our destination, we will most likely pitch tents and take a long nap.

Next Up!

Nashville, Tennessee

Rule #2:

Divide & Conquer

The second day is usually when a trip actually begins. Since our drive yesterday took us straight to Tennessee, we only had an hour drive to Nashville to take in the sights. I am sure you have heard this plenty of times. YOU CAN'T EXPLORE AN ENTIRE CITY IN 2 DAYS! This is entirely true, which is why you need to divide and conquer your sightseeing. Choose places that interest both parties involved and go to those that have the most votes. For instance my boyfriend and I chose the Parthenon, Grand Ole Opry House, and the Country Music Hall of Fame as our top sights to see. Try to choose three or less sites when visiting a big city, because you won't have enough free time to just enjoy walking around.

Adventure Time!

Sweetwater, Tennessee

Rule #3:

be an explorer

No matter where I go I always explore the state with unusual and abstract things to see and do. The first thing to pop up in Tennessee is the Lost Adventure! This cave tour includes a boat ride through a lit cave filled with water. Always explore a state and try new things that you never would expect to do. Trust me, it brings home great stories to tell after a trip.

On the way home....There's More!

Birmingham, Alabama

Rule #4:

Road stops do happen

Whether you want them to happen or not they always do. It is important to keep your mind open when on the road. For those like myself who always stick to the plan it is hard to just stop on the road and spend hours in a place you did not plan for at all. Therefore, I use a web program called Roadtrippers that allows me to see destinations that are within a certain mile distance away from the road. This is how I found the Barber Motorsports Museum in Birmingham, Alabama.

If you are interested in my full detailed itinerary from Texas to Tennessee please contact me.

Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
Follow Us
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
  • Google+ Basic Square

Join NomadHound's Mailing List

Never miss an update!

New Subscriber

© 2016 by NOMADHOUND

  • Instagram Black Round
  • Twitter Black Round
bottom of page