top of page

My Very First Backpacking Trip

Everyone starts out as a backpacker novice. I made every rookie mistake when I went on my first backpacking trip. At the age of 18, I set out on my first trip to Big Bend National Park in Panther Junction, Texas. I researched my backpacking destination for nearly a year before I finally went on my trip in December of 2016.

If you have met any of my family or friends, then they would tell you that I am a planner. I created a detailed schedule of what I planned to do, how I would get there, and even the times I planned to be there. I would create a power point showcasing pictures of my planned out destinations. Lastly, I would create a packing list for myself to make sure I never forgot a thing. It was my first trip, and I didn't want to mess up a single thing. I wanted my trip to be perfect.

Big Bend National Park

I purchased my 65L Backpack for the trip making sure my purchase was a worthy investment. My plan was to continue traveling long after college and to see new cultures, languages, and landscapes. I packed my backpack, tried on the 50lb bag, and figured I could handle the long day hikes moving from base camp to base camp. Little did I know what I had just gotten myself into.

Day 1: The Drive to Marfa, Texas

Marfa, Texas

Have you ever been in a vehicle for so long you feel like your turning into a piece of stone, because every joint in your body is aching from the hours of being still? Driving for 8 hours straight can really put a damper on your plans for when you get there. My schedule for Day 1 of my Big Bend Backpacking Trip was to drive to Marfa, Texas, locate my rented yurt, and later see the Marfa lights. My plans were instantly changed.

My drive to Marfa, TX went well. I made frequent stops to stretch my legs and take a break from driving. What I did not put into consideration was the many times I pulled over to stretch or get gas. Instead of arriving at the estimated time of 2pm, I arrived at 4pm. I ran into the yurt check-in building before they closed down for the night, hoping they didn't already rent out my booked yurt to someone else. I scraped by and got the yurt five minutes before they had to close down.

What I also forgot to factor in was the realization that I needed to obtain my backcountry pass a day in advance if I wanted to get the base camp I wanted in Big Bend National Park. I drove for another hour (over the speed limit) to get to the visitor center on time and obtain my pass.

I got lucky and obtained a spot in Laguna Meadows.

Day 2: The Excruciating Hike to Base Camp

Laguna Meadows, Big Bend National Park

I strapped on my 50lb backpack and set out on the trail with a smile on my face and the wind in my hair. I was finally accomplishing my dream as a novice backpacker. A quarter of the way up the mountain, I started to walk slower, dragging my feet, taking frequent breaks that became longer. Day hikers that had passed me early in the morning to go up the mountain were passing by me again through mid-day when I hadn't even walked a mile. One more mile up a steep hill was all I had left before I would reach my first base camp. Before I could finally eat my well needed meal.

I realized quickly that 50lbs was way too much to carry on your back. My shoulders were sore, my legs were aching, my shoulder straps were pinching me, and I honestly felt like giving up. I had thoughts in my head of just turning around and sleeping inside my vehicle for the night. The only thing that kept me moving was the thought of "only one more step till base camp, till food."

Day 3: The Unforeseen Moment

Waking up at Laguna Meadows base camp I quickly realized how sore I actually was. I once again strapped on my 50lb backpack and headed out on the trail to reach the South Rim. After a few short steps of walking up the steep trail, I realized there was no way I could continue up the trail. I turned around and started walking back to the trailhead. I had quit.

I learned several things on that trip.

1. Never carry a 50lb backpack, instead carry 20-30% of your body weight.

2. Never let the current matter before you take over your mind. What I mean by that is "Mind over Matter". If you don't believe, you won't succeed.

When was the last time you let the matter before you overtake you?

Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
Follow Us
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
  • Google+ Basic Square

Join NomadHound's Mailing List

Never miss an update!

New Subscriber

© 2016 by NOMADHOUND

  • Instagram Black Round
  • Twitter Black Round
bottom of page